Skip to content

Religious Thesis: Faith’s Fate

May 13, 2009

[Don’t read this post if you find religious discussion easily offensive. The author’s general orientation is ignostic.]

“It’s God‘s Will.” – “Oh good, so you don’t need one of your own”, is one of my intended answers to people who tell me about their fate. (Unfortunately, all clever remarks tend to evaporate from my brain each time I’m about to out them in public, so I’ll just save them up for a never-arriving cheeky future and eventually write them down in pieces like this one😉.) So here are some of my collected thoughts about…

Fate? Assuming life is not an absurd divine joke, fate is easy: Sophisticated existence doesn’t make sense unless there is a chance to apply its features. If humans‘ wills were indeed telecontrolled, there would be no point in giving us such capable mind powers. So, as much as I hate to break it to you, there is no excuse for any of us not to do whatever feels right. Because as long as no one’s plotting against us, fate is logically disprovable.*

Faith, on the other hand, is not. And that’s been giving me a rather hard time.

I consider myself a very rational, non-religious realist. I only believe what I can see and explain. Spirituality, even though it’s a beautiful thing, is difficult for me to accept, and I’ve been greatly challenged by the idea of God. As seen during the past 2’000 years of God-given wars and inquisition, faith can come in very handy as the convenient solution to human troubles: Whenever science fails, one can simply switch the button to “faith” and have all insecurities cleared out again (“Heya, God! I have no idea what to do, so I invented a few nice theories about You!” – “Thanks. You made my day, worm.”).

zzadamcode
But since clearly nothing can be proven, I refuse to be Fortune’s fool – and that quest is, regrettably, construable both ways: Who says you’re not a fool for NOT just believing? You get the point. So this means we basically never will be able to abstract the truth from simple human knowledge through logic. (Which would make perfect sense if there was a God; but again, we don’t know that.) It’s a dead end.

However, I had to come to some sort of  a personal conclusion to stop myself from going insane, so I came up with a thesis that sounds about reasonable enough to me:

  • Embrace your abilities. Regardless all oxymorons, faith is pragmatic to the spiritual and unpragmatic to the rational, naturally. Smart people will play to their strengths, because there’s your best chance to succeed in your mission (being the definition of your mind set, in this case). There is no variable change. Period.

I realise my theory’s lack of idealism, but ideal in terms of faith would only be a face-to-face meeting with God, so forget about it. Rather be what we can be: anything within humanity’s boundaries. In this light, all forms of spirituality and religion must be tolerated, for they are merely an expression of individual asset management, so to speak.

That’s what I think, and I think it’s pretty obvious. But should you disagree, I agree with you to disagree, if you know what I mean😀.


*By “logic”, I mean human logic. There might be higher forms of logic, but as humans, we’re probably supposed to only understand human logic, so the never-ending spiral of insight is broken somewhere.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

