Skip to content

We’re hiring. People, not brains.

May 15, 2009

I guess I am a pretty mean elitist, but I just can’t help finding simple people in decent jobs enormously funny. From a morally more elevated point of view than mine, it would of course look mostly alright/maybe a bit sad/borderline tragic…if it wasn’t so freaking hilarious! I’m an evil bitch, I know😀. But there just doesn’t seem to be a day passing without me stumbling over some grade-A comedy material. It’s inescapable, and I’m glad it is. Sort of.

sign_here-salesmanFor example, have you ever noticed the needlessness of customer consultants? And I don’t just mean those highly capable professionals working for insurance companies, but also the countless apes providing us with everyday life’s services, such as cell phone plans and bank account maintenance. A combination of cheap ties, lacking higher education and a good deal of indifference to what they’re actually selling makes up the complete disqualification of customer consultants to advise anyone in their right mind. The same applies to employees of call centers, customer care and sales personnel of any kind. They are absolutely CLUELESS. If asked about your product, they will repeat to you what’s printed in the specification documents, and if you inquire any additional information or clarification, they helplessly keep enumerating the General Terms and Conditions like a five-year-old in poetry class. (On the other hand, all fellow salesmen probably wouldn’t be able to read and understand the terms on their own. They need somebody who was trained to recite each sentence as it stands there, while actually neither speaker nor listener has the faintest idea about its true legal meaning.)

customer-service-2

Whatever. I suppose the majority of jobs would get lost alongside the achievement of efficiency. And as long as people at least feel taken care of, it’s all good. Only I usually feel more ridiculed than taken care of, but never mind. I’m perfectly fine on my own, reading what’s been written by some marginally more competent jackasses. No complaints here! Just don’t ask me if I need help, or I’ll snap and bite someone’s head off the next time. I very much suspect the upcoming of a day in my near future when a simple friendly “And would you like that gift-wrapped?” from an innocent lady triggers my hospitalization into Anger Management Anonymous. Service with a smile!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 15, 2009 4:33 pm

    Hi there,

    I looked over your blog and it looks really good. Do you ever do link exchanges on your blog roll? If you do, I’d like to exchange links with you.

    Let me know if you’re interested.

    Thanks..

    Like

    • angiesophy permalink*
      May 16, 2009 2:09 am

      Hi Eric. Thanks for your interest in my humble writing. I’m generally not averse to exchange blogrolling, but in this case I’m not sure if I’m exactly the right fit for your cell phone expertise. As you may have noticed, I don’t really care about technology that much, so I think we should spare our readers the pain😉.

      Like

Leave a Reply

