Skip to content

Why work? Finding freedom.

June 30, 2009

I’m an independent thinker. And as a student and economically active citizen, I’m supposed to be a mindless robot at times. I don’t like it, I’m human. Careers are a phenomenon of 20th century industrialization (which in my opinion equals the mass enslavement of an otherwise potentially sophisticated species) and I don’t want one. I see no sense in this primitive battle for social standing – it’s empty. No matter how reasonably I may argue, deep inside, I’m an originally idealistic society escapist. But since I like to keep my options open, I’ve been running through and collecting knowledge from all kinds of highly esteemed institutions – I call them breeding clinics – just in case. So you can’t tell me I’m stupid or uneducated, and I can always come and go, getting whatever I want. Free bird.

Naturally, I’m fighting against regular heavy motivation problems. It’s the price I’m paying for not sharing the same life perspective as probably most gregarious animals sitting in this noble university. How would you feel if you had to continuously try squashing 10% valuable information accompanied by 91% nonsense into your revolting brain without actually being truly committed to the system? Not particularly pleased, yes. So I’m happy to primarily indulge in my other (actual, creative) work and, if pressingly crucial, remind myself of WHY exactly I’m about to temporarily behave like a well-drilled machine and push the ON button. It’s possibly why we all keep up this existence, many without ever leaving it behind (or, if you’re lucky to be simple enough, without questioning it). Not me.

Bildschirmfoto 2009-06-30 19-26-17

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 2, 2009 8:10 pm

    Fly freebird, fly! Great post!😉 Kim

    Like

    • angiesophy permalink*
      July 3, 2009 5:02 pm

      Thanks! I’m glaring back at you😉

      Like

Leave a Reply

